Best Tracing Light Boxes for Drawing, Crafting and Transfer

Best Tracing Light Boxes

A strong tracing light box gives you an evenly lit work surface in the size and power format your projects need, whether you draw at a desk or trace while traveling. These ten options range from slim, USB-powered A4 pads to rechargeable A3 boards and a larger 12 x 18-inch table. For bright, adjustable illumination with a lock to prevent accidental changes, the HSK 9×13 LIGHT PAD is a standout.

If cordless use or a built-in stand matters more, several rechargeable models include those features along with clips or carrying cases. Compare the visible work area—not just the overall dimensions—then consider how brightness control, battery operation, and included accessories fit your workflow.

The picks below highlight those differences so you can narrow the field by use case.

The HSK 9×13 LIGHT PAD leads this roundup for tracing because it combines a 12 x 8.27-inch visual area, claimed 6000-lux illumination, flicker-free lighting, and a lock mode to help prevent accidental button presses. Its aluminum frame and 0.23-inch profile suit desk work without the larger footprint of an A3 pad. Choose a rechargeable model instead if working cordless is essential; the HSK listing does not specify a built-in battery.

Our Top Picks

HSK 9x13 Light PadBest Overall

HSK 9×13 Light Pad

Its 12 x 8.27-inch visual area, 6000-lux illumination, flicker-free light, and lock mode make it a capable, adjustable tracing surface.

View on Amazon
Artograph LightTracerLargest Work Area

Artograph LightTracer

The 12 x 18-inch illuminated board provides substantially more listed working space than A4 pads, with even LED illumination up to 5000 lux.

View on Amazon
TOHETO A3 Light PadBest Adjustable Stand

TOHETO A3 Light Pad

Its A3 format, foldable stand with six angles, and top magnetic clip suit larger projects where positioning and holding paper matter.

View on Amazon

Compare the Light Boxes at a Glance

#ProductDimensionsWeightMaterialBuy
113"L x 9"W x 0.23"H0.43 kgAluminum, Polystyrene (PS)View on Amazon
2
Artograph LightTracer2. Artograph LightTracerLargest Work Area
18.25"L x 3"W x 14"H3.8 lbPlasticView on Amazon
3
TOHETO A3 Light Pad3. TOHETO A3 Light PadBest Adjustable Stand
16.7"L x 0.47"W x 13.5"H2.4 lbA3 BlackView on Amazon
418.19"L x 13.35"W x 0.32"H1.89 kg—View on Amazon
513.46"L x 9.76"W x 0.43"H1.19 kgA4 With Bag Black (Rechargeable)View on Amazon
6
TSOCOS Rechargeable A4 Pad6. TSOCOS Rechargeable A4 PadFine brightness control on the go
13.47"L x 9.8"W x 0.43"H0.95 kgAcrylicView on Amazon
7
YINGWOND Rechargeable A4 Pad7. YINGWOND Rechargeable A4 PadProtected portable diamond painting
13.4"L x 0.4"W x 9.8"H1.15 kg—View on Amazon
8
Buspher Rechargeable A4 Pad8. Buspher Rechargeable A4 PadMagnetic A4 cordless tracing
13.9"L x 10"W x 0.35"H——View on Amazon
9
LitEnergy A4 Copy Board9. LitEnergy A4 Copy BoardPortable A4 tracing and craft pad
12.6"L x 9"W x 0.2"H16 ozAcrylicView on Amazon
10
ME456 A4 Light Box10. ME456 A4 Light BoxUSB-powered A4 desk tracing
12.6"L x 9.05"W x 0.2"H0.44 kgAcrylicView on Amazon

Detailed Reviews: Best Tracing Light Boxes

HSK 9x13 Light Pad

#1 · Best Overall

1. HSK 9×13 Light Pad

  • Dimensions: 13"L x 9"W x 0.23"H
  • Weight: 0.43 kg
  • Material: Aluminum, Polystyrene (PS)

Best for: Locked controls for detailed craftwork.

Why it ranks #1: Its 12 x 8.27-inch visual area, 6000-lux illumination, flicker-free light, and lock mode make it a capable, adjustable tracing surface.

A control-lock mode helps keep the HSK pad's touch buttons from being triggered accidentally while you draw or work on diamond painting, making uninterrupted sessions easier to manage. Its 13-by-9-inch overall footprint provides a larger surface than compact A4 pads.

The listed visual area is 12 by 8.27 inches, giving you a defined working space for tracing and other artistic projects. HSK specifies 6000-lux illumination, an aluminum frame, and a light-guide board for even, flicker-free lighting; together, those features support seeing line work across the pad. To lock or unlock the controls, press dimmer up and down together for three seconds. At 0.23 inches thick, it remains relatively slim for storage between uses.

Pros
  • Control-lock mode reduces accidental button presses during work
  • 12-by-8.27-inch visual area
  • 6000-lux illumination specified
  • Aluminum frame and light-guide board with even, flicker-free illumination
Cons
  • The stated visual working area is 12 by 8.27 inches, limiting larger projects.

Skip it if you need an A3 surface for oversized artwork; TOHETO's A3 Light Pad offers a larger working format.

The HSK suits artists and diamond painters who want a defined mid-size surface and a control lock to prevent accidental adjustments. Consider its 12-by-8.27-inch visual area carefully if your artwork needs more room.

Full product details
BrandHSK
ColorBLACK
Dimensions13"L x 9"W x 0.23"H
Item Weight0.43 kg
ManufacturerHSK
Part NumberA4 LIGHT PAD
MaterialAluminum, Polystyrene (PS)
Model9×13 LIGHT PAD
Model Number9×13 LIGHT PAD
Recommended UsesArtistic and creative activities
Warranty Description2 Year

Listed on Amazon as: HSK 9”x13”LED Artist tracing Light Box Copy Table, Adjustable High Brightness Light Pad for Tatto Drawing, Sketching, Animation, Diamond Painting Accessories

View on Amazon
Artograph LightTracer

#2 · Largest Work Area

2. Artograph LightTracer

  • Dimensions: 18.25"L x 3"W x 14"H
  • Weight: 3.8 lb
  • Material: Plastic

Best for: Large slanted tracing workspace.

Why it ranks #2: The 12 x 18-inch illuminated board provides substantially more listed working space than A4 pads, with even LED illumination up to 5000 lux.

The Artograph LightTracer 2 offers an 18-by-12-inch illuminated board, giving artists more room for tracing paper, sketch pads, and detailed illustrations than a compact A4 pad. Its slanted design provides an angled working surface for drawing, drafting, and pattern transfer.

Artograph specifies LED illumination up to 5,000 lux and describes it as even, without hotspots or flicker, which supports tracing clean lines across the larger surface. The 18-by-12-inch board is especially relevant for illustrations or quilting patterns that need more space than smaller pads provide. At 3.8 pounds and with overall dimensions of 18.25 by 14 by 3 inches, it takes more room to store and carry than a thin portable pad.

Pros
  • Large 18-by-12-inch illuminated work surface
  • LED illumination up to 5,000 lux
  • Even light described without hotspots or flicker
  • Slanted design provides an angled working surface
Cons
  • Its 3.8-pound weight and 3-inch height make it less compact to carry or store.

Skip it if you prioritize a thin, lightweight travel pad; LitEnergy's A4 LED Copy Board is only 0.2 inches thick and weighs one pound.

The LightTracer 2 fits illustrators, drafters, and quilters who need room for larger sheets and value an angled work surface. Its substantial size and weight matter if you frequently carry or store your tracing board.

Full product details
BrandArtograph
ColorWhite
Dimensions18.25"L x 3"W x 14"H
Item Weight3.8 pounds
ManufacturerArtograph
Part Number225-375
MaterialPlastic
ModelLightTracer
Model Number25375
Recommended UsesArtistic and creative projects, such as tracing, drawing, illustrating, fabric decorating, and quilting pattern transfer
Additional InformationImportant Information Proposition 65 Warning for California Consumers WARNING: Cancer – www.P65Warnings.ca.gov

Listed on Amazon as: Artograph LightTracer 2 LED Light Box for Tracing and Drawing, 18 x 12 in

View on Amazon
TOHETO A3 Light Pad

#3 · Best Adjustable Stand

3. TOHETO A3 Light Pad

  • Dimensions: 16.7"L x 0.47"W x 13.5"H
  • Weight: 2.4 lb
  • Material: A3 Black

Best for: Angled A3 tracing and painting.

Why it ranks #3: Its A3 format, foldable stand with six angles, and top magnetic clip suit larger projects where positioning and holding paper matter.

A foldable stand with six adjustable angles lets the TOHETO A3 pad sit at a working tilt, enabling users to choose a position for tracing or diamond painting. Its top magnetic clip holds paper or canvas, helping keep the material in place during detailed work.

The stand folds into the back of the light box for storage, combining adjustable positioning with an integrated rather than separate support. The top clip is specified to hold paper and diamond painting canvas, which can simplify setup when working across the A3 surface. The product lists rechargeable operation, but the supplied details do not state battery runtime. Its 16.7-by-13.5-inch dimensions make it a larger board to accommodate than a compact A4 pad.

Pros
  • Built-in foldable stand with six adjustable angles
  • Top magnetic clip holds paper and diamond painting canvas
  • A3 format for larger work
  • Stand stores on the back of the pad
Cons
  • The supplied product information does not state battery runtime.

Skip it if you need a stated cordless runtime for planning long sessions; Zocelight's Rechargeable A4 Light Box lists 4–6 hours.

Choose this TOHETO for A3 tracing or diamond painting when an adjustable integrated stand and magnetic clip fit your workflow. Its larger dimensions need storage space, and the listed details leave battery runtime unspecified.

Full product details
BrandTOHETO
ColorBlack
Dimensions16.7"L x 0.47"W x 13.5"H
Item Weight2.4 pounds
ManufacturerGuangdong Jishengke Industrial Co.,Ltd
Part Number001
MaterialA3 Black
ModelA3 Light Pad
Model NumberLX 203450
Recommended Usesdiamond painting, stenciling, calligraphy, embossing, scrapbooking, tattoo transferring, sketching & drawing, streaming, sewing projects, stained glass, quilting

Listed on Amazon as: TOHETO A3 Light Pad, Rechargeable Light Board for Diamond Painting, Tracing Light Box with Stand and Clip, Light Table Lightbox for Tracing, Drawing

View on Amazon
TOHETO Rechargeable A3 Pad

#4 · Best A3 Cordless

4. TOHETO Rechargeable A3 Pad

  • Dimensions: 18.19"L x 13.35"W x 0.32"H
  • Weight: 1.89 kg

Best for: Cordless A3 diamond painting.

Why it ranks #4: This A3 pad pairs rechargeable operation with a padded carry bag and shoulder strap, offering a larger portable format for tracing and drawing.

An A3 work surface gives the TOHETO rechargeable pad room for larger tracing and diamond painting projects, while its padded shoulder-strap bag supports transport. The product also specifies a 4000mAh battery, making this a cordless-oriented option for artists who need more area.

The padded, soft-lined case helps protect the screen while carrying the larger-format pad, and the shoulder strap provides a carrying option for moving it between work locations. Physical buttons provide tactile controls, a practical choice when adjusting the pad during hands-on projects. Its dimensions are 18.19 by 13.35 inches, so it needs more storage space than an A4 board. The listing identifies a 4000mAh battery but does not provide a wireless runtime in the supplied specifications.

Pros
  • A3 format for larger artwork and diamond painting
  • 4000mAh battery specified
  • Padded case with soft anti-scratch lining
  • Shoulder strap and physical buttons
Cons
  • The supplied product information does not specify a wireless runtime.

Skip it if you need a stated cordless runtime before choosing; Zocelight's Rechargeable A4 Light Box lists 4–6 hours of wireless use.

This TOHETO is aimed at diamond painters and artists who want an A3 cordless pad with a protective carry case. Account for its larger storage footprint, and note that the supplied details do not state battery runtime.

Full product details
BrandTOHETO
ColorBlack
Dimensions18.19"L x 13.35"W x 0.32"H
Item Weight1.89 kg
ManufacturerTOHETO
Part NumberA3-D60
ModelSuper Bright A3 Light Pad with 4000mAh Battery
Model NumberA3-D60
Warranty Description1 Year Manufacturer

Listed on Amazon as: TOHETO Rechargeable A3 Light Pad with Carry Bag for Diamond Painting, Ultra Bright Tracing Light Box for Drawing, Wireless Lightbox for Tracing and Drawing, Cordless Diamond Art Light Board (Black)

View on Amazon
Zocelight Rechargeable A4 Pad

#5 · Best A4 Kit

5. Zocelight Rechargeable A4 Pad

  • Dimensions: 13.46"L x 9.76"W x 0.43"H
  • Weight: 1.19 kg
  • Material: A4 With Bag Black (Rechargeable)

Best for: Cordless A4 creative work.

Why it ranks #5: It combines a rechargeable A4 pad, six brightness levels, a built-in stand, clip, padded case, and stated four-to-six-hour cordless use.

A built-in rechargeable battery gives the Zocelight A4 pad 4–6 hours of listed wireless use after a two-hour charge, enabling tracing away from an outlet. Its padded case, stand, and clip add practical support for carrying and arranging materials during portable art sessions.

Six brightness levels let you choose an illumination setting for tracing, drawing, or diamond painting, while the built-in stand provides an angled working position. A clip helps hold work in place, and the padded case makes the kit easier to transport and store. The Type-C port and included 1.8-meter cable also allow USB-powered use, so you can switch from battery operation when a suitable power source is available. Its A4 size keeps the surface compact for mobile work.

Pros
  • Rechargeable operation listed for 4–6 hours after a two-hour charge
  • Six brightness levels
  • Built-in stand and clip support hands-on work
  • Padded case and 1.8-meter Type-C cable included
Cons
  • The listed wireless runtime is limited to 4–6 hours per charge.

Skip it if you need a larger A3 work surface; TOHETO's A3 Light Pad with Stand and Clip provides the larger format.

Choose this Zocelight for portable A4 tracing, diamond painting, or sketching when a stand, clip, and carrying case are useful. Its listed 4–6-hour wireless runtime makes it a less suitable match for longer sessions without recharging.

Full product details
BrandZocelight
ColorBlack
Dimensions13.46"L x 9.76"W x 0.43"H
Item Weight1.19 kg
ManufacturerZocelight
Part NumberA4D28BlackWithBag
MaterialA4 With Bag Black (Rechargeable)
ModelZocelight Rechargeable A4 led light pad with Bag
Model NumberA4D28BlackWithBag
Recommended Usesdiamond painting, drawing, tracing, animation, sketching, calligraphy, sewing projects, weeding vinyl, architectural design, X-ray viewing
Warranty Description1 year

Listed on Amazon as: Rechargeable A4 Light Box with Padded Case,led Light pad with Built-in Stand & Clip,6 Levels of Brightness lightbox for tracing,Diamond Painting.Light Table for Artists,Drawing,Sketching,Animation

View on Amazon
TSOCOS Rechargeable A4 Pad

#6

6. TSOCOS Rechargeable A4 Pad

  • Dimensions: 13.47"L x 9.8"W x 0.43"H
  • Weight: 0.95 kg
  • Material: Acrylic

Best for: Fine brightness control on the go.

Why it ranks #6: Its built-in battery supports about five to six hours of use, while brightness offers both stepless control and six levels.

Stepless 0–100% dimming gives the TSOCOS A4 pad more brightness adjustment than fixed-step controls alone, enabling you to tune illumination closely for tracing or diamond painting. Its built-in battery and USB power options also support work in more than one setting.

The product lists six brightness levels alongside stepless control, giving users both preset choices and finer adjustment. A full charge takes about two hours and provides approximately five to six hours of operation, while USB power offers another way to use the pad when a source is nearby. The Type-C charging interface supports charging, and the ultra-thin design is described as fitting easily into luggage. Its A4 format suits portable craft and drawing tasks that fit that size.

Pros
  • Stepless brightness control from 0–100%
  • Six brightness levels also listed
  • Built-in battery and USB power options
  • About 5–6 hours of operation after a two-hour charge
Cons
  • The listed battery runtime is approximately 5–6 hours per full charge.

Skip it if you need a larger A3 drawing surface; TOHETO's A3 Light Pad with Stand and Clip provides a larger format.

This TSOCOS pad suits mobile artists and crafters who value fine brightness adjustment on an A4 surface. Its listed five-to-six-hour battery window and compact format are important boundaries for longer sessions or oversized work.

Full product details
BrandTSOCOS
ColorBlack
Dimensions13.47"L x 9.8"W x 0.43"H
Item Weight0.95 kg
ManufacturerTSOCOS
Part NumberA4-D28Black
MaterialAcrylic
ModelA4-D28Black
Model NumberA4
Recommended Usesdiamond painting, decoupage, stenciling, 2D animation, calligraphy, inlay, scrapbooking, tattoo transfer, sketching and painting, streaming, sewing projects, stained glass, quilting
Warranty Description180 days

Listed on Amazon as: Rechargeable A4 Light Pad – Stepless Dimmable 6 Levels Brightness Tracing Light Box, Diamond Painting Light Board with Top Clip, Battery Powered Portable Light Pad for Weeding Vinyl Tracing

View on Amazon
YINGWOND Rechargeable A4 Pad

#7

7. YINGWOND Rechargeable A4 Pad

  • Dimensions: 13.4"L x 0.4"W x 9.8"H
  • Weight: 1.15 kg

Best for: Protected portable diamond painting.

Why it ranks #7: The rechargeable A4 pad lists four-to-six-hour wireless use, a padded carrying case with shoulder strap, riser stands, and a paper clip.

A padded, soft-lined case with a shoulder strap makes the YINGWOND rechargeable A4 pad easier to carry while helping protect its screen in transit. Its built-in battery is listed for 4–6 hours of wireless use after a two-hour charge, supporting work away from a desk.

The built-in stand provides an angled position for tracing or diamond painting, while the paper clip helps secure materials on the light surface. Six brightness levels allow adjustment for different tasks. Together with the rechargeable battery, these features create a portable setup without requiring a separate stand or a continuously connected power source during a session. The padded case also provides a place to store and transport the pad; its A4 format suits projects that fit within that working area.

Pros
  • Padded case with soft anti-scratch lining and shoulder strap
  • Wireless use listed for 4–6 hours after a two-hour charge
  • Built-in stand
  • Paper clip and six brightness levels
Cons
  • Its listed wireless runtime is 4–6 hours, so longer cordless sessions require recharging.

Skip it if you need cordless use for more than six hours at a stretch; the listed runtime does not cover that session length.

Pick this YINGWOND for portable A4 tracing or diamond painting when a carrying case, stand, and clip help your workflow. The stated battery window makes it a less natural fit for extended cordless sessions.

Full product details
BrandYINGWOND
ColorBLACK
Dimensions13.4"L x 0.4"W x 9.8"H
Item Weight1.15 kg
ManufacturerYINGWOND
Part NumberD28B+CASE
ModelA4-D28B+CASE
Model NumberA4-D28B+CASE
Recommended Usestracing, drawing, diamond painting,weeding vinyl, sketching, tattoo transferring, architectural design, animation, X ray viewing, calligraphy, embossing, stained glass, industrial design, scrapbooking, quilting, sewing projects
Warranty Description90 days

Listed on Amazon as: YINGWOND Rechargeable A4 LED Light Pad with Padded Case, Tracing Light Box w/Riser Stands and Paper Clip, 6 Levels of Brightness, Type-c Cable, Wireless Diamond Painting Light Board

View on Amazon
Buspher Rechargeable A4 Pad

#8

8. Buspher Rechargeable A4 Pad

  • Dimensions: 13.9"L x 10"W x 0.35"H

Best for: Magnetic A4 cordless tracing.

Why it ranks #8: Its 4000mAh battery is specified for five hours of wireless use, and the listing highlights Type-C charging and physical side buttons.

A 4000mAh built-in battery gives the Buspher A4 pad up to five hours of listed wireless operation after a 3.5-hour charge, enabling tracing away from a fixed power source. It can also run plugged in, so you can choose between cordless and connected use.

Side physical buttons provide tactile controls, while the strong magnetic design is listed as a feature for holding materials during tracing. The Type-C charging cord is compatible with most chargers, offering a familiar way to replenish the battery. With dimensions of 13.9 by 10 by 0.35 inches, it has a compact A4-oriented footprint for home or outdoor drawing. The five-hour wireless runtime and 3.5-hour charge time help set expectations for planning portable sessions.

Pros
  • 4000mAh built-in rechargeable battery
  • Up to five hours of wireless use after a 3.5-hour charge
  • Cordless or plug-in operation
  • Side physical buttons and magnetic design
Cons
  • The listed wireless runtime is up to five hours per charge.

Skip it if you need more than five hours of listed cordless runtime; Zocelight's Rechargeable A4 Light Box lists 4–6 hours, including a higher upper limit.

The Buspher fits artists seeking a magnetic A4 light pad with physical buttons and both cordless and plug-in operation. Its five-hour listed battery limit and 3.5-hour recharge time should suit your session plans.

Full product details
BrandBuspher
ColorBlack
Dimensions13.9"L x 10"W x 0.35"H
ManufacturerBuspher
Part NumberBu-A4-D60-Black
ModelBuspher rechargeable A4 light pad
Model NumberBu-A4-D60-Black
Warranty Descriptiona year

Listed on Amazon as: Buspher Rechargeable A4 Light pad,Bright Magnetic Light Box for tracing

View on Amazon
LitEnergy A4 Copy Board

#9

9. LitEnergy A4 Copy Board

  • Dimensions: 12.6"L x 9"W x 0.2"H
  • Weight: 16 oz
  • Material: Acrylic

Best for: Portable A4 tracing and craft pad.

Why it ranks #9: This slim 0.2-inch A4 pad is lightweight at one pound and offers touch-controlled gradual dimming, but its listing specifies USB power.

At just 0.2 inches thick, the LitEnergy A4 pad slips into a bag more easily than a traditional tracing box, making it practical for drawing or stencil work away from a fixed desk. Its A4 working area suits paper-based projects that fit within that footprint.

The gradual dimming touch switch lets you adjust brightness by holding the control, which helps tailor the illumination to different tracing materials and tasks. LitEnergy lists flicker-free LEDs and even illumination, so images show through paper for tracing without relying on a bulky table-style unit. The acrylic pad measures 12.6 by 9 inches overall and weighs one pound. Its USB-powered operation suits a workspace with a USB power source, while the slim profile makes it easy to carry between work areas.

Pros
  • A4 visual working area for common tracing and craft tasks
  • 0.2-inch profile supports easy carrying
  • Gradual brightness adjustment through the touch switch
  • Flicker-free LED illumination listed for tracing through paper
Cons
  • USB-powered operation requires a connected USB power source.

Skip it if you need cordless use away from USB power; Zocelight's Rechargeable A4 light pad offers wireless operation for 4–6 hours.

This is a sensible fit for sketchers, stencil makers, and crafters who want a very slim A4 tracing surface and USB power. Choose another format if your projects exceed its A4 working area or need cordless operation.

Full product details
BrandLitEnergy
ColorBLACK
Dimensions12.6"L x 9"W x 0.2"H
Item Weight16 ounces
ManufacturerLitEnergy
Part NumberLE-A4S-B
MaterialAcrylic
ModelA4 LED Copy Board Light Tracing Box
Model NumberLE-A4S-B
Recommended Usesstenciling, 2D animation, calligraphy, embossing, scrapbooking, tattoo transferring, sketching & drawing, streaming, sewing projects, stained glass, quilting

Listed on Amazon as: LitEnergy A4 LED Copy Board Light Tracing Box, Adjustable USB Power Artcraft LED Trace Light Pad for Tattoo Transferring, Drawing, Sketching, Animation, Stenciling, Diamond Art Painting Accessories

View on Amazon
ME456 A4 Light Box

#10

10. ME456 A4 Light Box

  • Dimensions: 12.6"L x 9.05"W x 0.2"H
  • Weight: 0.44 kg
  • Material: Acrylic

Best for: USB-powered A4 desk tracing.

Why it ranks #10: The 0.2-inch A4 pad offers flicker-free illumination and USB power, but its listed tracing features are less differentiated than higher-ranked choices.

USB power lets the ME456 A4 light pad draw electricity from a computer, power bank, or compatible wall plug, giving desk artists several ways to run it. Its 5-millimeter profile also makes it easy to move or store when a tracing surface is not needed.

The dimmable touch control helps set a suitable light level for penmanship, design, and tracing tasks, while the listed even, flicker-free illumination supports seeing images through paper. Its 12.6-by-9.05-inch overall size keeps it within a compact A4-style footprint. The included USB cable and 5V, 4.5W specification clarify its power needs and let you connect to common USB sources, though the pad itself is not described as rechargeable.

Pros
  • 5-millimeter-thick portable profile
  • USB cable included for connection to a computer, power bank, or wall USB plug
  • Dimmable touch control
  • Even, flicker-free illumination listed
Cons
  • It relies on USB power rather than a built-in rechargeable battery.

Skip it if you need wireless sessions away from a power source; YINGWOND's rechargeable A4 LED Light Pad supports 4–6 hours of cordless use.

This ME456 fits artists and crafters who work near USB power and want a slim A4 tracing surface with adjustable brightness. Its corded power arrangement is the key boundary for users who create away from outlets.

Full product details
BrandME456
ColorBlack
Dimensions12.6"L x 9.05"W x 0.2"H
Item Weight0.44 kg
ManufacturerME456
Part NumberA4S
MaterialAcrylic
ModelME456
Model NumberA4S
Recommended UsesStenciling, 2D animation, calligraphy, embossing, scrapbooking, tattoo transferring, sketching, drawing, sewing projects, stained glass, quilting, enhanced visualization

Listed on Amazon as: ME456 A4 LED Light Box 14" Light Pad USB Power Light Table for Tracing,

View on Amazon

Avoid the paper-size and work-area mismatch

Check the usable illuminated area before choosing a tracing light box; the outside dimensions can make a pad seem larger than the part that actually lights. The HSK 9×13 Light Pad lists a 13 x 9-inch overall size but a 12 x 8.27-inch visual area, while the Artograph LightTracer provides a 12 x 18-inch illuminated board. The A3 TOHETO models suit larger work than A4 pads, but their listed product dimensions do not state a precise visual-area measurement.

That distinction matters when tracing a full sheet, a large pattern, or artwork that must stay aligned near the edges. Match the pad’s lit surface to the largest sheet or pattern you expect to use, and leave room for clips or margins where needed.

If you cannot confirm the visible area from the listing, do not assume the advertised format means every part of the paper will be illuminated.

Power and brightness claims need context

A claimed brightness level does not, by itself, tell you how well a pad will work with your particular paper or room lighting. The HSK 9×13 Light Pad specifies 6000 lux and the Artograph LightTracer specifies up to 5000 lux, while several other listings describe adjustable brightness without giving a comparable lux figure. Rechargeable models introduce another trade-off: the Zocelight and YINGWOND list four to six hours of wireless use, and TSOCOS lists about five to six hours.

Those figures help with planning but are not a guarantee for every brightness setting or battery condition. For thick, dark, or layered materials, verify that the product’s illumination suits your medium rather than treating brightness steps as a direct comparison.

For long sessions near an outlet, a USB-powered pad can avoid battery interruptions; for moving between workspaces, cordless runtime and charging access matter more.

How to Choose a Tracing Light Box

Work area and format

Choose a format that covers the largest sheet or pattern you intend to trace, and check the visible area when the listing provides it. The HSK 9×13 Light Pad has a stated 12 x 8.27-inch visual area, while the Artograph LightTracer has a 12 x 18-inch illuminated board. Several models use an A4 designation, and the TOHETO options are A3.

Larger formats are useful for broad illustrations, sewing patterns, or diamond-painting canvases, but need more desk and storage space. A4 suits compact projects and easier carrying; A3 gives more room for oversized work.

If exact fit is important, compare the lit working surface with your paper dimensions rather than relying only on the product’s outside measurements or format label.

Brightness and control

Look for brightness control that fits your materials and a control layout that will not interrupt your work. The HSK 9×13 Light Pad specifies 6000 lux, flicker-free illumination, and a lock mode; the Artograph LightTracer lists illumination up to 5000 lux. Zocelight and YINGWOND offer six brightness levels, while TSOCOS lists both stepless control and six levels.

LitEnergy describes gradual dimming by holding its touch switch. Measured lux figures and step counts are not directly interchangeable, so use them as available details rather than a complete performance comparison.

A wide control range is useful when switching between different papers or room conditions; a lock can be helpful if you often rest your hand on the pad while drawing.

Power, portability, and included supports

Decide whether you need cordless sessions or prefer a simple USB-powered pad, then weigh any carrying and positioning accessories. Zocelight and YINGWOND state four to six hours of wireless use after charging, TSOCOS lists about five to six hours, and Buspher specifies five hours from its 4000mAh battery. LitEnergy and ME456 list USB power, which suits a fixed desk or an available USB source.

For posture or paper placement, TOHETO A3 Light Pad has a six-angle foldable stand and magnetic clip; Zocelight adds a built-in stand and clip, and YINGWOND includes riser stands and a paper clip. Choose cordless power and a case for travel, or prioritize a stand and clip if you work for longer periods at a table.

Which tracing light box should you choose?

For a versatile desk pad with specified brightness and protection against accidental changes, choose the HSK 9×13 Light Pad; its 6000-lux claim, lock mode, and 12 x 8.27-inch visual area make it the best all-round fit in this group. If you need a much larger stationary surface, the Artograph LightTracer offers a 12 x 18-inch illuminated board. For larger projects with a more adjustable working angle, the TOHETO A3 Light Pad adds a six-angle stand and magnetic clip.

Choose the TOHETO Rechargeable A3 Pad for cordless A3 use with a padded carry bag. For portable A4 work, the Zocelight Rechargeable A4 Pad combines a case, stand, and stated four-to-six-hour battery life.

If you primarily work at a USB-powered desk, consider the slim LitEnergy A4 Copy Board.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I choose a light pad size for standard paper and larger artwork?

Match the illuminated area to the work you trace most often. An A4 pad suits portable work with standard-size sheets, while an A3 option or the Artograph’s 12 x 18-inch illuminated board gives larger artwork more room. Check the stated visual or illuminated area, since the overall pad dimensions may differ.

Can a tracing light pad show through watercolor paper or multiple stacked sheets?

It depends on the paper’s thickness, opacity, and number of layers. The HSK listing claims 6000-lux illumination, but the supplied information does not establish performance through watercolor paper or stacked sheets. Test your materials with the pad before relying on it, and use fewer or thinner layers if the image is difficult to see.

How should I position a light pad to reduce glare and eye strain?

Place the pad on a stable surface and adjust its angle or position until the light is comfortable and the tracing remains clear. Keep the work area evenly lit, avoid looking directly into the LEDs, and take regular visual breaks. A stand can help set a working angle; the TOHETO A3 model includes a six-angle stand.

Which features matter most for cordless tracing?

Choose a model explicitly described as rechargeable or battery-powered if you need to work away from a desk. The TOHETO Rechargeable A3 is described as cordless and includes a carry bag; the Zocelight Rechargeable A4 listing states four-to-six-hour battery life. The HSK listing does not specify a built-in battery.

What can help keep paper in place while tracing?

Look for a listed clip or other paper-holding feature. The TOHETO A3 includes a clip, and several A4 listings also mention clips. A locking control can serve a different purpose: the HSK has a lock mode to help prevent accidental button presses, rather than to secure the paper.

Final Words

For a versatile desk pad with stated brightness and protection from accidental button presses, choose the HSK 9×13 Light Pad; its claimed 6000-lux illumination, lock mode, and 12 x 8.27-inch visual area make it the strongest all-round fit here. Pick the Artograph for a larger stationary surface, or the TOHETO A3 for an adjustable angle. For cordless work, choose a rechargeable model suited to your preferred size.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *